• Hello!

Either you have not registered on this site yet, or you are registered but have not logged in. In either case, you will not be able to use the full functionality of this site until you have registered, and then logged in after your registration has been approved.

Registration is FREE, so please register so you can participate instead of remaining a lurker....

Please be certain that the location field is correctly filled out when you register. All registrations that appear to be bogus will be rejected. Which means that if your location field does NOT match the actual location of your registration IP address, then your registration will be rejected.

Sorry about the strictness of this requirement, but it is necessary to block spammers and scammers at the door as much as possible.

Is My Snake Obese?

Malaika

Sonno Eterno
Hello all!

I just had a rather startling encounter. I am a college student, and I took my corn snake, a female named Isha (born May 07) to be sexed. The herpotologist there was SHOCKED to find out that Isha was only about a year old. She showed me to the yearlings in the lab and I was horrified. The lab's yearlings were TINY. Isha was the size of their 2-year-olds.

Isha is currently somewhere around 200 grams (8 oz) and maybe about 2 feet long. I've never measured her length, so that's a complete guess, but I do weigh her. I'm now feeding her 2 peach fuzzies a week rather than 3 as I had been for a month or so. She doesn't look obese--her head is only a bit smaller than her body, she doesn't have space between her scales--but I was wondering, how big ARE 1-year-olds supposed to be? The difference between Isha and the yearlings at the herp lab were appalling. I have no idea what's right. Isha is my first corn snake, and I've never been able to find a size chart that correlates with the age of a corn snake.

Thank you for your insight!

Size