PDA

View Full Version : Corn rattler

Corn rattler

rudie
09-05-2008, 10:04 AM
Hi all, I am new to this whole snake thing. My interest is rather in fish where I bred marines and propogated corals.
With this in mind I learned that reading alot on the subject is the best pre-preperation. OK back to the subject.

So I got this corn snake for free from one of my clients, actually it's for my 6 year old son who absolutely endores reptiles. I got the viv with heating pad, bowl the works. The corn is about 1 m long and this Wednesday night it was the first feeding night with 3 weaners, life I may add as he does not eat anything not moving. The days before this he was very calm, my son could take him out, I could, even my daughter. He would just respond to the movement but once picked up he relax.

NOW, as he was finishing his third weaner I was busy outside the viv putting the sliding lock back on when he curled up and went at my hand from the inside (ek het in my broek gekak), this translated into English mean "it scared the cr@p out of me". Together with this was the rattling of the tail. Now do you guys and girls think this is just because he was in hunting mode or was he pissed off. This morning, 2 days later is seems to be calm again, I told my son that we are not allowed to handle the snake for at least two days after he ate. Try telling that to a 6 year old.

Here is a picture of the little gem.
http://www.hookedonline.co.za/general/snake.gif

norm
09-05-2008, 10:55 AM
Never get between a snake and their food. You are likely to get bit. I use tongs to feed because they will sometimes hit your hand when going for a mouse.

Two days is a good rule, but it's not due to aggression. You need to allow time for digestion. Handling the snake after eating can cause regurgitation.

v_various
09-08-2008, 05:24 PM
yep, no handling for 48 hours or risk re-gurge. But you can handle him before he eats just fine, so that should count for something.