PDA

View Full Version : Worried owner, please read!

Worried owner, please read!

Slow_worm
08-04-2003, 10:31 AM
A few months ago I noticed my adult male corn snake(LOWLY) had not been to the toilet..(which is unusual as he is usually very regular) ..for two weeks.I was told a bath might help relieve him,and it did.But there is a strange shape near his rectum-I'm not very experienced with snakes so I've been looking at loads of photos and diagrams to see if this is normal and I cant find anything like this.It looks like he needs a poo-but he's been going regularly so I dont think its because of that.Also the area feels very soft and squashy to touch.He never had a lump there before,I'm just worried that theres something really wrong with him,he looks healhy though and he's eating and going to the toilet.He's my 1st snake so I'm not very expericed-if anyone could help put my mind at ease with any advice,info or contact details of anyone that could help-I'd be very grateful!
Thanks,
Fiona.:)

PSYCOSNAKEMOM
08-04-2003, 10:50 AM
You could post a picture here and that might help the people here eto help you. I'm not clear if he is pooping, (yes we use the poop word) or not, because at first it sounded like he wasn't then I think you said that he was.

I consider myself inexperienced also. So for me it would be a trip to the vet. Welcome to the wonderful world of corn snakes. Sam ~~~~~:~

Slow_worm
08-04-2003, 11:02 AM
He did have a problem but he IS pooping now,the problem is the strange lump.I cant actually get a pic at the minute as he wont come out of his hiding place-the little sod! I will post a pic as soon as I can tho.
Our vets is useless with anything without hair so I'm trying to get as much info as I can from poeple that DO know about snakes.
Thanks for replying :) I thought no1 ever would!

Fiona:)

PSYCOSNAKEMOM
08-06-2003, 01:30 PM
If you scoop him up and put him in his feed box you should be able to get a picture pretty easy. Hows he doing? Sam ~~~~~:~