PDA

View Full Version : Do corn snakes burp?

Do corn snakes burp?

Conagher
02-22-2009, 06:47 AM
I need advice.

Yes, I am a newbie when it comes to snakes.

My corn is still small at about 14-15" long and fairly slim.
I last fed my corn last Saturday (Feb14)
I tried to feed it Thursday (Feb19), but it didn't seem interested, and it appeared to have a little bit of a bulge left. I was a little confused about that, but had checked on the snake daily, and the temps always looked good (82-84 F) on the warm side of the tank, and it was moving fine, so I didn't get too concerned. Saturday morning (Feb21), I peeked in just to look/watch, and mine was out moving. As I am watching, it looked like it contracted its whole body in on itself becoming very thin during the contraction, starting at its tail and slowly tightened toward to front like it was trying to push what was in its stomach (still a slight bulge there) toward its head as if to regurgitate.

I know that it not good for a snake to regurgitate, so I watched intently. The bulge indeed was slowly pushed up and the snake opened it's mouth real wide in anticipation of regurgitating, and... Nothing! Nothing visible came out, but the bulge is gone. It was like there was a big air bubble or something.

I registered on this website, but had to wait for a bit before my account was activated. In the meantime, I peeked into your chat room and found a few people that were gracious enough to let me interrupt their conversation with my newbie questions. Unfortunately, they were not sure what may have happened either and suggested to try feeding the snake a very small meal (i.e. a pinky's head), which I tried that afternoon. The snake was still not interested in feeding at all. I left the snake alone in the feeding container with the head for about 30 minutes before returning it to it's 20G long tank.