PDA

View Full Version : Need help with Neurological Problem

Need help with Neurological Problem

beckysdesigns
03-07-2009, 10:18 AM
So far I have had 3 2008 hatchlings that have developed a Neurological problem. I met yesterday with a long time breeder in the area who use to raise corn snakes, but now raises the larger ones. I went over everything with him from my feed schedules, husbandry and their environment and from looking at the snake he said she definitely has a neurological problem. He is going to do some research and call a zoo vet that he knows to see if he can figure out the problem.

The only thing that we could come up with is that a toxin has caused the problem. I have a very large master bedroom and up until last week I was keeping my snakes in my bedroom. ( I now have them in their own plastic shoebox with a few savings and water in a spare bedroom that I keep around 75 degrees) I had 6 male hatchlings in a 20 gallon tank with aspen shavings, heat pad, several hides and plants and water dish. I had the same setup for my 6 female hatchlings. I also have some adult snakes in their own individual tanks. All adults are fine, it just seemed to affect 2 of the males and 1 of the female hatchlings. All hatchlings at one time were feeding very well. I feed every weekend and clean out their cages with the Wipe Out sold for reptiles.

I pretty much live in my bedroom with my big screen TV and my computer next to my bed. I often use Fabreeze and candles. Perfume is the only other thing I spray from my bathroom.

Could electronics like TV or computers affect them or sprays? I'm open to all suggestions on how to save these guys.

Thanks!

danielle
03-07-2009, 10:34 AM