PDA

View Full Version : Making a cage?

Making a cage?

cathiasplace
05-07-2009, 10:01 PM
So, I got it into my head that I may possibly want to make a cage for my future corns. I was looking at cages on eBay and saw someone selling plans. I've made a couple of DIY projects for my knitting habit, but I've never worked with wood before. I don't really have any tools except for a drill and a hand saw.

I found this link (http://pet-snakes.com/homemade-snake-cages) while looking for other plans on Google. It's definitely something I could do. Has anyone else made a cage like this?

kingwoz60
05-07-2009, 11:59 PM
I've built 2 cages in the last month; one out of plexi and the other out of wood with a plexi front. We have a ball python in the plexi viv and a corn in the wood viv. I prefer the wood way more than the plexi. Heat management is a practical reason, the plexi was way more expensive than wood, and wood is easier to work with. Plus I think that the wood looks much better.

I read your link and that seems easy enough, but it depends on what you want - ease or appearance. I like my tanks to fit in with the room decor, so a plastic tub tank wouldn't do it for me.

You'd need a few more tools to make a decent looking tank, and if your woodworking skills aren't that great, I'd advise against it. But, you could learn and practice. I've had a great time building these cages with my kids and when our boa gets huge, I plan on having my skills perfected to the point where I can build him an awesomely eye-pleasing and practical viv!

cathiasplace
05-08-2009, 08:43 AM
The appearance thing did cross my mind with a plastic tub. :) Though our decor is just a hodgepodge of mismatched stuff anyways. And the cages wouldn't be in the living room area.

I would love to make a wood cage. Perhaps I could do the easier plastic cage for now and attempt a wood cage after my husband comes home. He doesn't do woodworking either, but it may be something fun we could learn together.