PDA

View Full Version : just getting started

just getting started

prophet
05-30-2002, 05:13 PM
Hello all,
I am brand new to snakes and have decided to start off with a corn snake. I just ordered the corn snake amnual. I am looking for any advice you all can give, as the guy at the reptile shop is an #$% I tell him I'm interested in Starting collecting snakes and ask some questions about the different corns he has and also about rubber boas and he blows me off and goes back to reading his!!!. What size tank is good ? I was thinking about a 30 gallon. What should be in the cage(I know about the 2 hides/water bowl/and substrat but is their anything else?)...basically any help is well welcomed.
Thanks In Advance.

Mike

kenalotia
05-30-2002, 06:08 PM
Hi Mike, I'm sure you'll enjoy your new corn snake. The Corn Snake Manual is a great resource, too. A 30 gallon tank would be good, but a 20 gallon LONG tank is also fine for the entire life of most corns. A regular 20 gallon tank wouldn't be large enough, so you have to make sure it's a long one if you go with the 20 gallon. You'll need a heat source, such as an under tank heater, on one side. I also recommend that you get the snake something to climb on. Corns are semi-arboreal and they love to climb.

If you're wondering about substrates, most people here like aspen. For babies, though, you might want to use newspaper or paper towels, though.

Have fun with your new corn!

Colleen
05-30-2002, 06:31 PM
Congrats on getting a Corn! Ours has been alot of fun. The only thing that I would add to the over post is you may want to get a temp. humid. gage (they sell one that has both for around$15)and a temp control devise. We didn't get the temp. controller for our under tank heat pad and it got the bottom of the tank WAY to hot. With this we can set it on hi-med-low, and not have to woory about him borrowing to the bottom and getting burned.

:D Hope this helps. Have fun!
Colleen

B-J@y
05-30-2002, 08:05 PM