PDA

View Full Version : Pet store mice okay?

Pet store mice okay?

MomInCalifornia
10-17-2009, 11:43 AM
I'm a teacher and have a 1 year old cornsnake in my classroom. I purchased her at a very reputable vivarium that's an hour away. When I went to pick her up I bought 3 months worth of frozen pinkies as well and i'm down to my last few.

We have lots of pet stores 5-10 minutes from us and I'd much rather go to one of them to get more feeders than an hour away.

I know not to buy snakes from PetSmart, Pet Co etc, but is it okay to buy the frozen feeders from them?

Thanks!

jlindp
10-17-2009, 11:47 AM
I have 3 snakes and have, on many occasions, bought and fed Arctic Mice from Petsmart without any issues. I actually had a hatchling that preferred the Arctic Mice over the pinkies I bought from RodentPro. ;}

Emily1188
10-17-2009, 12:01 PM
I'm a teacher and have a 1 year old cornsnake in my classroom. I purchased her at a very reputable vivarium that's an hour away. When I went to pick her up I bought 3 months worth of frozen pinkies as well and i'm down to my last few.

We have lots of pet stores 5-10 minutes from us and I'd much rather go to one of them to get more feeders than an hour away.

I know not to buy snakes from PetSmart, Pet Co etc, but is it okay to buy the frozen feeders from them?

Thanks!

It's fine but it's freaking expensive! :nope: Although if you're only feeding one snake, I guess it might not hurt too much. You may want to search for local "mom n pop" shops that may carry rodents for less outrageous prices. :)

Stars
10-17-2009, 12:03 PM
Expensive compared to buying bulk, yeah. It will still be under 2$ per mouse.

danielle
10-17-2009, 12:07 PM
I would just seek out local shows its so much cheaper. Also a pinky is way too small a meal for a yearling- most should be on fuzzies or hoppers by then to grow properly- I imgine she's still small due to her diet so get some fuzzies and then move up to hoppers:)

ZoologyGirl
10-17-2009, 12:07 PM

Thanks!