PDA

View Full Version : Corn Snake Skin Folds/clicking

Corn Snake Skin Folds/clicking

bobicus880
10-26-2009, 12:41 PM
Recently my cousin was over, and without my permission he took my snake out, and dropped him. It was only three feet, but he hit the linolium with a plop. At first he was alright, and nothing looked strange, but after three days his skin has began folding over, and his spine was viewable through the skin. It is not like this all the time though. Once he breathes in the folds go away, and he looks like his old self. Also he seems to be making clicking noises, however he is about to shed, and I was told loose skin can cause this. Another problem is that his mouth is partially open (I was told it was caused by shedding too). I'm worried for my little bugger, but he does not seem in pain at all, but on the other hand he did not feed yesterday (shedding?)

Zulu3
10-26-2009, 01:53 PM
is he/was he in blue? are his eyes cloudy at all?

i'm no pro but it doesn't sound like totally normal shedding behaviour to me. When you sat the skin folds is it like it wrinkles when he bends his body or is it more like it's loose on either side of his body? does his spine appear to have any "kinks" in it now that you can see it?

Pictures may help. Hopefully others with more experience can give you some input but more info and pictures would probably help.

All the best to you and your little one,
Ali

bitsy
10-26-2009, 02:06 PM
It does sound rather like normal shedding things. Has he refused food before when about to shed?

Zulu3
10-26-2009, 02:15 PM
What about the clicking though and the open mouth? I've never heard of that? But like I said I'm no expert =)

bobicus880
10-26-2009, 02:40 PM
this is my first time with him shedding. I'm a turtle keeper crossed over into corn snakes for the first time. I've read about the mouth opening and clicking being normal but never the skin folding. That is the main thing I'm worried about. Thanks though

VickyChaiTea