PDA

View Full Version : Corkscrewing

Corkscrewing

starsevol
10-31-2009, 09:38 AM
My girl Vidalia is a 2007 lavender. When she was sent to me, her breeder said he noticed a "dip" around the area of her neck and asked me if I could see it. I studied her and I could not see it at all. She moved normally and looked perfect.

In May she decided to go off feed. She still moved normally and seemed fine, but if I ran her through my hands I could feel a small flat spot around her neck. Nothing major, just a dip.

She started eating again last month, and I was elated. When I would put the mouse in her cage (she liked to be left alone with it), she would rear up and twist just a little. I attrubuted that to her being startled and flightly. As time went on (within the past month) her movements became alot more erratic and jerky.
I went to feed her today, and she can't crawl in a straight line. She is corkscrewing herself in knots. When she is at rest she looks fine. When she moves slowiy around her cage she looks fine. But when she moves fast, she is in knots....
She has started eating again. She had a normal shed last night. This appears to be neurological, but I have no idea what has caused it. She doesn't seem to be in pain at all. Any ideas as to what this could be?

Nanci
10-31-2009, 09:41 AM
Oh no, Beth! She's my favorite snake! I can't imagine what could be happening. I hope she is okay...

danielle
10-31-2009, 09:45 AM
Does sound neurological, but I don't know of anything that progresses slowly like this being she's a 2007. I hope it doesn't progress anymore and this is the worst of it. Sorry about this:(

starsevol
10-31-2009, 09:55 AM
Between the time that I posted this and now..she has eaten a large adult mouse. So she doesn't seem to think a whole lot is wrong with her anyway......