PDA

View Full Version : Little Okeetee

Little Okeetee

CarlieLynn
12-13-2009, 07:31 PM
Not sure whats wrong with her, shes getting miscoloured scales and her head is peeling. Any suggestions?

http://i997.photobucket.com/albums/af95/CarlieLynn/taiwan103-1.jpg?t=1260750587

The colouration of the scales gose pailish right before the one kink in her body, its all kindof hard to see, but they feel rough there as well. Theres not as much skin peeling on her head as yesterday.

jlindp
12-13-2009, 07:39 PM
Looks like she's possibly shedding or starting the process. Has she shed for you yet? I'm not a expert when it comes to kinked snakes, so I don't know if that'll have any reason behind it. The head peeling is usually where the shed starts.

CarlieLynn
12-13-2009, 07:43 PM
I know in the pic it looks that way but really there is only like a 1cm by .5 centimeter area where the scales are rough and miscoloured. There is aspen mites in her tank (well I treated it yesterday and found none today), but I didnt think they did damage. I always panic like this when i see something wrong with them. I just dont kow what it could be.

danielle
12-13-2009, 07:45 PM
Looks like she needs a good soak in cool/warm water around 80-84 degrees with a washcloth in their to climb through. Keep the water shallow and make sure she has holes in whatever you put her in for ventilation- small holes though. Leave her in there for an hour and keep an eye on her. Then take her out and let her climb through the washcloth with you holding her firmly. It's dry in Canada I hear so maybe she's having a little trouble shedding:)

CarlieLynn
12-13-2009, 07:48 PM
She shouldnt... Ive never had a problem shedder and this girl knocks over her water dish ever 5 minuets, its always moist in her cage, plus i have a humidifier in here.

danielle
12-13-2009, 07:50 PM