PDA

View Full Version : Vitamin E

Vitamin E

Traci
06-05-2002, 04:34 PM
I was just wondering if anyone else uses vitamin E oil or anything else on their snake? My vet told me to use hojoba oil or vitamin E to help with his shedding and keeping his scales nice. Just wondering if anyone had heard of this? Thanks Sydney is right now gliding over the keyboard.:D

Iris
06-05-2002, 07:50 PM
I have never heard of anything like that but then again I am new at this...
I don't think it would do any harm so if your vet thinks it would help and if your snake needs it, go ahead and use the oil or vitamin E

Tim Madsen
06-05-2002, 09:39 PM
It probably wont hurt but if your snake is healthy it's not necessary and if it's ill it probably wont help. It would be kind of like make up, it might make you look better but it wont change your health. IMHO

Rachel
06-06-2002, 01:24 PM
I use vit E on my female. She is a problem shedder and I find it helps alot. It does no harm to them, keeps scales in tip top condition and helps with shedding. Hope that helps!

Alicia
06-06-2002, 01:57 PM
It's important to remember that while jojoba and vit E won't harm the snake you are just treating a symptom and not the problem. What ever is causing the shedding problem needs to be fixed, ie:husbandry, stress or illness. If you are using it for a one time problem then thats great but if the snake continues to have problems shedding you need to look further. Good Luck.

:) Alicia

Traci
06-06-2002, 03:10 PM
Rachel, how often do you use the vit. e oil on your female? Is she a "problem shedder"? Do you use it on her when she is about to shed? You seem to be the only one who uses it. I was having problems with my humidity, but I think I have cleared that up and I just want to make sure he doesn't have anymore shedding problems.

jim
06-06-2002, 03:45 PM
traci,