PDA

View Full Version : my hatchlings will not eat

my hatchlings will not eat

batman361
01-19-2010, 02:14 AM
i recently got two bloodred hatchlings and a charcoal het for blood. yay!!!!! it is the type fo corn i have wanted for a really long time, the only problem is they have not eaten. it has been about a month and a half already and i am starting to freak. i have been raising cornsnakes for like eight years and this has never happen. i dont know how much time they have since they will not eat. and i have tried all the tricks i know. the closest i got was them taking it down only to all regurge the following day. any suggestions.

SquamishSerpents
01-19-2010, 02:26 AM
what are your temps like? do they have enough hiding places? if not, they could be too stressed out. when snakes don't have hides they feel insecure and exhibit it by not eating/maybe being aggressive, etc. maybe just take a look at your husbandry, and if everything checks out, try these other tips:

are they in a rack system?

this may seem like a very long shot, but last year, 4 of my hatchlings (ironically, all amels) wouldn't eat. they went about 3 months, and then somewhere (don't remember where) i got a suggestion to maybe change up their position in the racks.

so i did, i shuffled some from the inside to the outside, up and down, vice versa, AND IT WORKED! it may have just been a freak occurance, but it *seemed* to have worked for me.

have you tried any other methods like braining, or scenting the pinks with chicken broth? i've had a bit of success with the chicken broth, too.

i hope they eat for you!

batman361
01-19-2010, 03:19 AM
yeah i have tried assist,scenting(chicken broth,tuna,and lizard),braining,cupping,brown bagging. I just dont know what to do. And no i have them separated but they are in a quarantine room with all the other new ones and they are all doing fine. The only ones giving me trouble are these. And i hope i can get them to eat soon.

Cat_Eyed_Lady