PDA

View Full Version : Collecting wild Corns in NC?

Collecting wild Corns in NC?

Slik
01-15-2004, 08:08 AM
Collecting wild Corns

Since I am relatively new to this hobby I thought I'd try to pick the brains of those who are much more experienced in this aspect than I. I work in a family owned business and we actually have one of our facilities that is located in Swansboro, NC (near Jacksonville) and I was curious if anyone knew if this are had any potential for possibly collecting a few wild caught Corns.

I have no idea what would be the best time of the year for this trip but my schedule is fairly flexible so most anytime could be workable. Is spring the best time or would I be better off to try it in the fall before they start brumation?

Anyone here from or near this area?

Thanks for any input of help on this...I think it would add a lot to my insight by being able to tromp around and see a few of these guys in the wild.

Lee

Tim Madsen
01-15-2004, 11:42 PM
That area has some of the best looking corns I've ever seen. The middle of April to the end of May is the best time for corn hunting (depending on the weather). I've seen some brilliantly colored corns in Hyde County.

Slik
01-16-2004, 07:07 AM
Wow, thats about the last thing I expected to hear. I'm not known for having much good luck ;) That is great and I really appreciate the information. I'll have to start talking to a few of the folks in the area and making arrangements to take a trip down there I think...

I guess I having something to look forward to in the Spring now :)

Again, many thanks...

Lee

CAV
01-18-2004, 11:53 AM
You need to talk to elrojo. Chip is the forum's NC snake hunter.

Slik
01-19-2004, 09:52 AM
Thanks CAV,

I'll drop him an email ans see if he can shed some additional light on the subject for me.

Many thanks for the help.

Lee

So Pirate55
01-20-2004, 12:21 PM
I'm from NC, and i can vouch for this place being excellent for catching snakes, Corns or Rat snakes.