CornSnakes.com Forums

CornSnakes.com Forums (https://www.cornsnakes.com/forums/index.php)
-   Husbandry and Basic Care (https://www.cornsnakes.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   Baby chicks as a food source? (https://www.cornsnakes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=146158)

Frank Pinello 08-05-2018 04:18 PM

Baby chicks as a food source?

I have been raising a breeding corn snakes for many years and have always provide frozen thawed mice as a food source. I have a local mouse breeder who also sells frozen baby chicks an it occurred to me that a baby chick mixed in every couple of months my be beneficial to the nutrition of my collection.
Or maybe not?
My second thought is don't mess with what's working. But if a baby chick once in a while could be beneficial, I would like to do it.
Would love to hear other opinions or experiences on this before I make a decision.
Thanks.

MysticExotics 08-05-2018 05:28 PM

I think it's a good idea to alternate food items!
I keep meaning to get some baby quails to offer.
When I had Carpet Pythons, I gave baby chicks and baby quails to the ones who would eat them.

I think those that will eat a variety of prey, will ultimately be healthier. That's just my own personal opinion.

Twolunger 08-06-2018 04:49 PM