CornSnakes.com Forums

CornSnakes.com Forums (https://www.cornsnakes.com/forums/index.php)
-   Husbandry and Basic Care (https://www.cornsnakes.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   My young Candy Cane... (https://www.cornsnakes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=45)

Snipper 03-25-2002 02:06 PM

My young Candy Cane...

Hello everyone,
I would like to know what is the best lighting for him? How often should I pick him up? After how old may I take him out side with me for a while? I guess that's it for now. If you have any other info please do tell. I just bought my candy cane corn on Friday and I'm new to this stuff so any info would be helpful,THX'S! By the way he only 8-9 months Oh he cute!!

Simon 03-25-2002 05:08 PM

To answer some of your questions

Well the best lighting for a corn snake should be an infra red spot light. They can't see the red light so it doesn't disturb them as much as regular light bulbs.

Well you can pick him up whenever you want BUT do NOT pick him up after his meal. Leave him alone for AT LEAST 48 hours so he can digest the mouse.

Well you can take him outside anytime you want. They were supposedly to be wild so of course it can go out. But then people have been going through touble with neighbours because the are scared or it and scream their head off just because of it.....

Good luck with him and hope that you'll have great fun!

Remember to buy the "Corn Snake Manue" from Bill and Kathy Love if you haven't!

Good luck and Happy Herping!

Alicia 03-25-2002 07:41 PM

congratulations