CornSnakes.com Forums  
  Tired of those Google and InfoLinks ads? Register and log in!

Go Back   CornSnakes.com Forums > Classifieds Section > Corn Snakes Wanted
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Corn Snakes Wanted Looking for something special and you don't know who has it for sale? Post what you are looking for here and see if you get any bites.

Looking for eggs specifically

Old 02-06-2017, 04:46 PM   #1
Thralni
Looking for eggs specifically

Hello all,

I realize this is a little awkward. People are of course attached to their pets, which they have reared over years. Still, I'm going to go out on a limb here and see if perhaps anybody is willing or able to help out. This is going to be a bit of a special request for a special reason.

For now I'm hiding my name etc just in case somebody here decides to target me for the work I do... Call it self-protection.

I'm a PhD student at Columbia University, working on the development of the lung. The lung is an intricate, complicated organ that's, of course, vital to our survival as adults. In my research, I study a very basic process of lung development: how some parts of the lung become equipped for respiration, whereas others are equipped merely for conducting the air to the respiratory tissue.

While my work so far has only been in mammals, I would like to expand to snakes.

I have worked on snake development previously, mostly looking at the lung, heart and blood vessels. Some of you are probably aware of this already, but the snake lung is rather different form that of mammals: essentially its a blind-ended sack, much like a very elongated grocery bag. As such it lacks much of the modern complexity of mammalian lungs.

The question I'm asking, is how through evolution the snake lung came to be the mammalian lung. For this I will employ techniques that will allow me to see where certain genes are being turned on.