CornSnakes.com Forums  
  Tired of those Google and InfoLinks ads? Register and log in!

Go Back   CornSnakes.com Forums > The CornSnake Forums > Behavior
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Behavior General topics or questions concerning the way your cornsnake may be acting.

Snake is not moving much

Old 01-20-2019, 03:02 PM   #1
IlaandSnake
Snake is not moving much

Hi y'all! I'm new to this thread, but figured it might be a good idea to sign on as I wasn't really planning on getting a pet, but when a sweet 5 year old cornsnake names Snake was offered to me, and after knowing that he had been moved around for pretty much his entire life I decided that I wanted to take him in and try and hive him a more steady and healthy environment.

I bought him a 4ft x 1.5 ft x 1.5 ft enclosure, as he came to me in a 20 gallon tank which was just way to small for him. Now his vivariumis pretty empty, he has a hide on the warm side and one on the cold side, a waterdish and 3 plants, so I have ordered more stuff for him so that he does not feel so exposed.

Now I am telling you this because after moving him into his new vivarium he has pretty much only been staying in his cave on the cold side (I use a 50 watt light because he doesent seem to enjoy the warm side one bit and I figured maybe a lower heat bulb would be better, but he still doesent seem to care for it). He only comes out of his cave when its feeding time or when I physically take him out of there. I am worried there might be something wrong with him as he was much more active in his tiny tank than he is in this one.

He was active at first for a week or two at dusk and dawn (as I have read is normal for cornsnakes), but now he doesent seem to move even then. I do believe he is about to shead, as his colour have become matted and a bit dull, especually on his underside. So may this be the reason as for why he is standing so still?