CornSnakes.com Forums  
  Tired of those Google and InfoLinks ads? Register and log in!

Go Back   CornSnakes.com Forums > The CornSnake Forums > Husbandry and Basic Care
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Husbandry and Basic Care General stuff about keeping and maintaining cornsnakes in captivity.

Corn snake questions

Old 06-19-2020, 11:21 AM   #1
thegreyace
Corn snake questions

Hi! I'm new to the forum and corn snake husbandry (or any reptilian husbandry for that matter) I have one cornsnake that I just purchased from my LPS and had a few questions about it.

1. I have no clue what morph the snake is and I am not good at finding morphs. I thought maybe hypomelanistic but she also looks like the same color as a lot of normal but with more white (she is a baby so idk if the white goes away as she ages or not).

2. I dont know if she is actually a she, I have limited knowledge of sexing snakes (like snake discovery, clints reptiles, and a few other yt channel's videos on sexing snakes)

3. I noticed the day I got her she had a slightly grayish spotted scale on her nose but since she was new I didnt want to handle her too much, now that it's been about a week and I am starting to handle her a little bit every day to get her used to it and I noticed a few speckled spots on her belly near her tail too and didnt know if it might be scale rot.

I have kept fish for a few years so idk how different the snake world is with needing parameters but she has a light that is on a timer, a mix of Aspen shavings and reptile soil for her substrate. One big hide in the middle of the enclosure and two little ones on each end of the enclosure. She has a ceramic heat bulb and I'm torn on lighting so for now it's an led light. I have read that snakes dont need the uv lights like most lizards but if that's wrong I'm completely fine getting a light.