CornSnakes.com Forums  
  Tired of those Google and InfoLinks ads? Register and log in!

Go Back   CornSnakes.com Forums > Classifieds Section > Corn Snakes For Sale
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Corn Snakes For Sale Got too many? Had a change of interest? Babies hatched out and you want to make some money so you can buy others? This is the place to try to sell them. ALL members may post ads here.

Size does matter... for newbies

Old 04-12-2015, 01:45 AM   #1
frostgfx
Size does matter... for newbies

Newbie here ---

Has anyone ever considered uniformly including a snake's length and weight in the classified ads??? It would be great for me as a new soon to be owner, since pictures are great but don't have a relative scale to them?

Old 04-12-2015, 01:11 PM   #2
hypnoctopus
I almost always include weight in my ads, but not always length because it's more work for me to get an accurate length than it is to weigh them. You can always send the seller a message asking for more specific details.

Old 04-12-2015, 01:40 PM   #3
Chip
I'll gladly put a snake on a scale if anyone asks, but I'd sooner lose a sale than stretch one out and try to get a length. That's just not information you need if you have its mass and a photo, and it would be very hard on the animal, with a few ultra calm exceptions. I always include a hatch date and at least one photo, you can tell pretty easily a snake's age and size by its development once you've studied a few. Note the difference in the head and body bulk of these.
Hatchling 5 grams:

In a few short weeks at 15 grams, note how less "fragile" the head looks, and how the eye is smaller comparatively:

By 30 grams in size, pigment is coming in, and the body begins developing musculature.

By 150 grams in size, the snake no longer has "baby features" and is taking on the build and coloration of an adult: