CornSnakes.com Forums  
  Tired of those Google and InfoLinks ads? Register and log in!

Go Back   CornSnakes.com Forums > The CornSnake Forums > Health Issues/Feeding Problems
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Health Issues/Feeding Problems Anything related to general or specific health problems. Issues having to do with feeding problems or tips.

Female Snake Not Eating

Old 06-26-2019, 12:35 AM   #1
pitzMike
Female Snake Not Eating

okay so ive been keeping snakes for almost 5 years now and already know that some cornsnakes will be off feed especially during breeding season. But, there is one particular snake that is bugging me. She is a 3year old creamsicle which I bred last April. 2 weeks after her successful breeding, she went off feed which I thought was a sign that she is having eggs. Unfortunately, a month pass but no eggs were laid. She ate again last May 20 then refrain from eating again until June 5 which she ate her last food. Now, I offer her a mouse every week but she only sniff them but will not eat them. Her body is still good although she have lost a couple of grams. Now im getting a bit concerned should she continue to refuse eating.
I know that it is very common for MALE cornsnakes to go off feed (I have several males that goes off feed for 1-2months) but this was the first time that I had encountered a female going off feed for almost a month now.
I know going to the Vet is necessary but vets that accept exotic pets here is so far in between.

Old 06-26-2019, 11:09 PM   #2
Karl_Mcknight
A snake can live a very long time without food. As long as the snake is not acting sick or losing weight, there's probably nothing to worry about. I've heard of some snakes not eating for several months and being perfectly ok. You stated your snake ate last on June 5th. That's only 21 days ago (3 weeks). I only feed my snake every 3 weeks. When he goes off food, he sometimes goes 6 weeks or more.

Old 06-27-2019, 01:12 AM   #3
pitzMike