CornSnakes.com Forums  
  Tired of those Google and InfoLinks ads? Register and log in!

Go Back   CornSnakes.com Forums > The CornSnake Forums > Feeders
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Feeders Any and all issues about raising rats, mice, or anything else that you feed your cornsnakes.

Humanely Culling Mice Pinkies

Old 06-10-2013, 03:14 PM   #1
Michiel
Humanely Culling Mice Pinkies

I'm relatively new to Corn snake ownership (about 2 months) and had some difficulties with culling the pinkies. I noticed that new owners often wonder how to cull humanely.

I could not bear the thought of freezing them alive and did not want to "bludgeon" them to death. And I think gassing by CO2 will take too long, thereby increasing stress and suffering.

I then decided that I will use electricity. I used it on two different occasions to cull 13 in total so far. It's basically instant and is relatively non-violent.

What I did:

1. I took two plugs (one three-prong and one two-prong) with some cord attached and joined the cords end to end. Ensuring that it's decently insulated with insulation tape.

2. I plugged in the 3-prong and put on a rubber glove on one hand to handle the 2-prong plug with and with the other placed the pinkies one by one on a plastic container lid, culling each as it is put on the lid.

3. Keep the contacts only for a second or two in contact with the pinkie. No longer than 2 seconds!

Do not do this if you are a minor. The risk of electrocuting yourself is very real if you are careless.

I know it's not a perfect method, but it works perfectly for me. Hope this can help someone

Old 06-11-2013, 08:10 AM   #2
reptire
Michiel, pinkies are extremely easy to apply cervical dislocation on and it's instanteneous. Try it out.

Old 06-11-2013, 10:39 AM   #3
BloodyBaroness
Quote:
Originally Posted by reptire View Post
Michiel, pinkies are extremely easy to apply cervical dislocation on and it's instanteneous. Try it out.