CornSnakes.com Forums  
  Tired of those Google and InfoLinks ads? Register and log in!

Go Back   CornSnakes.com Forums > The CornSnake Forums > DIY Projects
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

DIY Projects Use this forum to post threads related to home made projects for your corns... Vivariums, hides, decorations, accessories, you name it. Anything to save some bucks or give your personalized touch.

Plans from a complete beginner

Old 01-05-2014, 04:27 PM   #1
abutler
Plans from a complete beginner

I am thinking about getting a corn snake and keeping it in my room. I want to know if they are ok and I have got some questions as well.

In my bedroom I have this desk and shelves
http://www.ikea.com/ie/en/catalog/products/S19861339/
I am planning on taking the divider from the top shelf and turning it into a tank sort thing for the snake. The dimensions of that shelf would be about 29' long by 15' deep by 12' high. Is this big enough for an adult corn snake?

I would cover the front with plexiglass and cut out a door in it for maintenance. For the back (against a wall) I was thinking about using wire (5mm gaps) but I am worried that a corn snake would be able to escape from that. Is there another alternative that would provide ventilation and it would be secure or is the wire ok.

I am planning on getting a heat pad from amazon and using newspaper and shredded paper as a substrate. Would that suit the set up? Is wood (or whatever kind of wood mixture it is made of) safe for snakes.

Any other advice on setting it up would be great. Thanks

Old 01-05-2014, 04:39 PM   #2
alan
A lot of IKEA furniture is particle board covered in paper. It doesn't hold up well with moisture or liquids present.
If you're okay with modifying the shelf anyway, could you take the top off and put a tank in it's place?

Old 01-05-2014, 05:07 PM   #3
abutler