CornSnakes.com Forums  
  Tired of those Google and InfoLinks ads? Register and log in!

Go Back   CornSnakes.com Forums > The CornSnake Forums > Breeding/Egg Production & Care
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Breeding/Egg Production & Care Any topics concerning breeding of the cornsnake, brumation, egg laying, or issues concerning problems in any step along the way.

Girls won't mate

Old 03-25-2019, 04:46 AM   #1
Rawren
Girls won't mate

So my I put my male in with each of my girls the day they all shed (girls shed a couple days apart). He was very eager to breed but every time he touched the girls they quickly slithered away. More like whipped away... He was doing everything to try to court. After awhile I'd catch them curled up together.

What do I do to get a successful lock? This is my first time breeding. I've left then each together for 2 days and then separated. Do I just keep repeating this?

Also, during all this do I need to feed?

Old 03-25-2019, 09:18 AM   #2
67temp
I am far from experienced as this is my first year too. If they were left together for 2 days you typically won't know if they actually locked or not unless you witnessed it or the male left a "sample" behind.

For my first clutch the female kept eating till about a week before her pre-lay shed. So she was empty by the time she was ready to lay.

This link might help you some. http://www.cornsnakes.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=145506

Old 04-05-2019, 01:44 PM   #3
albinoscooby
Are you sure that one of them is a female? Sounds like it could be behavior between two males. They usually wrap around one another....

To get them to breed, you can try to put them in a bin together and spray some mist lightly over them. It makes the females sent stronger. Don't put them togeter in their tank that they live in. Put them in a bin and leave them alone for a while, than go back and check a few hours later and see if the Snake semen is there in the tank. Than you'll know