CornSnakes.com Forums  
  Tired of those Google and InfoLinks ads? Register and log in!

Go Back   CornSnakes.com Forums > The CornSnake Forums > Photography Techniques and Equipment
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Photography Techniques and Equipment This forum is for the discussion of technical details of how to take good pictures as well as discuss the equipment used in that pursuit.

How I get my shots...

Old 06-23-2011, 05:33 PM   #1
EddieA
How I get my shots...

Ok, I am by NO means a pro. I just figured this out by trying different things and it gets an effect that I personally like, so I have stuck with it.

The equipment I use are Pentax K10D and K7 cameras, Vivitar 285HV flash, and my little homemade snake studio. The "studio" is an old molded plastic guitar case that I lined with black coat wool (very non-reflective), and even glued a small cardboard box under the wool on the left side in case I want to take a shot that is a bit higher than the case floor. It is also cool that I can store some of my props in it.

Here's the studio:

Up close with my technique, I get something like this:

And this:

I start out with the F-stop around 4 and a shutter speed of 125 or so and adjust from there. The other thing I do is I mount my flash backwards (full power) and angle it 45 degrees over my shoulder and bounce the light off the kitchen walls. I also find that manual focus works better for me when doing snakes. You have to be fast sometimes though!

Old 06-23-2011, 05:42 PM   #2
toxiclight
What a fantastic idea I've been planning to make a light box, but as half my snakes are very pale morphs, I worried about them bleeding into the background. I love the black background...now to find something around here that will serve instead of a guitar case (since I don't happen to have one :/)

Old 06-23-2011, 07:20 PM   #3
azhketh
Forget the tips, I want that first snake! That second pic is awesome, looks very professional.