CornSnakes.com Forums  
  Tired of those Google and InfoLinks ads? Register and log in!

Go Back   CornSnakes.com Forums > The CornSnake Forums > Husbandry and Basic Care
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Husbandry and Basic Care General stuff about keeping and maintaining cornsnakes in captivity.

The Poop Thread

Old 03-31-2010, 06:25 PM   #1
pridecity
The Poop Thread

I thought this might be very helpful to some of our new corn owners (and to myself). I'm hoping lots of people will pitch in to make this very complete. I'm asking for lots of clear pictures and details. Also, any corrections as well because I'm no expert. I'm also hoping that we can eventually make this into a FAQ and a sticky.

First, what does "normal" corn snake poop look like?

It might best be described as looking like bird poop. It has some dark stuff and some white to yellowish stuff. The white/yellowish stuff is urates or essentially the urine. The dark stuff may be brown or black and is the actual poop.

Now, this is really about all I know for sure. Can everyone else help out with the following?

1. My snake pooped some yellow gel-like stuff. Should I be worried?
2. There was a little blood/red stuff in the poop. Is this bad?
3. Is this a regurg or a poop? (I'd really like some good comparison shots for this one)
4. My snake's poop is green. Help!!
5. How do I know if my snake has parasites? (I know this one may be hard to get a picture of)
6. Is it okay to leave poop in the cage for a few days? I read somewhere that it can release toxins to kill the snake.
7. My snake hasn't pooped in a week! Do I have to take it to the vet?
8. Why does my snake poop in his water?
9. My snake stinks like his poop. How do I get rid of the smell?
10. Did my snake just poop on me? It's really strong smelling and yellow.

And any more poop-related questions/answers you can think of. Thanks!

Old 03-31-2010, 07:59 PM   #2
ShenziSixaxis