CornSnakes.com Forums  
  Tired of those Google and InfoLinks ads? Register and log in!

Go Back   CornSnakes.com Forums > The CornSnake Forums > Feeders
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Feeders Any and all issues about raising rats, mice, or anything else that you feed your cornsnakes.

Breeding Mice

Old 03-14-2006, 06:20 PM   #1
3330PHILIP
Breeding Mice

Hi, I've been thinking about breeding mice for my snakes. Now, i've never done it before. Does it matter what breed/type of mice i breed?? My local petstores have loads of mice except your normal, standard brown mice. Some have fancy names and colours. They're all roughly same price (£3-£6 english pounds). also, How can i tell if i'm buying a male and female? When can mice breed, in terms of their age? All help will be greatly appreciated!
Regards

Old 03-14-2006, 06:35 PM   #2
MightyNutteR
nah doesn't matter what type of mice, just make sure you only have 1 male mouse to a colony

Old 03-14-2006, 06:36 PM   #3
MightyNutteR
look for the biggest mice* i had to go and buy these tiny mice, gonna take a while until they get fat and explode with babies

Old 03-14-2006, 06:38 PM   #4
Baba-Lou
Mice reach sexual maturity at different times, Females at 6 weeks and males at 8 weeks. NO its doesn't matter if you breed 2 different color domestic mice. As for sexing them. If the space between their anus and urethra are farther then its a male. Where as its shorter in females. If you don't know what mice are what at the pet store are, ask for so many females and so many males. Its not hard to breed mice. But you do have to take into account they breed better in lower temps, and on a light schedule of 12:12. And sometimes you won't see them having babies for some time. So don't get frustrated. Just give them some time.

You have any more questions just ask.

Old 03-14-2006, 06:40 PM   #5
Baba-Lou
Quote:
Originally Posted by MightyNutteR