CornSnakes.com Forums  
  Tired of those Google and InfoLinks ads? Register and log in!

Go Back   CornSnakes.com Forums > Administrative > Discussions about this site
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Discussions about this site How is this site doing? Any suggestions to make? This is the forum to talk about this website in general.

Just feeling cranky this morning

Old 06-04-2005, 11:34 AM   #1
Rich Z
Just feeling cranky this morning

You know, when I set up this site and put in a For Sale section, I wondered if I was making a mistake, since I make my living off of selling my own corn snakes. I could see the drawbacks of doing that, but heck, I was trying not to be petty about restricting people from openly competing with me on my own website. So I decided to go ahead and allow people to post their FOR SALE ads here and just not worry about it.

But honestly, when I see people posting their ads and obviously undercutting my prices by $20, well it does kind of make me think about reconsidering my decision. Honestly I AM strongly considering removing that section and simply pointing people over to the FaunaClassifieds site. Yeah, that is my site too, but for some reason I feel more like this is my home turf as far as the corn snakes are concerned.

So am I just being in a bad mood today and kind of grumpy? Too overly sensitive and cranky? Should I look at an alternative, such as setting it so that ONLY contributors can post FOR SALE ads here? Or would that be even a worse solution?

You know, I try to set prices high enough so that everyone getting into the newer stuff can make some decent money off of them and make this worthwhile for us all to participate in. But when people begin cutting prices immediately, well then perhaps I really shouldn't be concerned with helping out "the other guy" at all.

Old 06-04-2005, 11:58 AM   #2
breedingcolors
Thought one.