CornSnakes.com Forums  
  Tired of those Google and InfoLinks ads? Register and log in!

Go Back   CornSnakes.com Forums > The CornSnake Forums > Husbandry and Basic Care
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Husbandry and Basic Care General stuff about keeping and maintaining cornsnakes in captivity.

Not a fan of Faunariums or anything as such

Old 09-02-2015, 07:46 PM   #1
SebastianSalazar
Not a fan of Faunariums or anything as such

Hello

Im totally new with snakes meaning that even tho ive never own one ive always wanted it an ive researched about them enough to decide that im going for a corn snake. The thing is that in my experience with reptiles, ive always managed with the kind herps that like it the bigger the better (as iguanas and chameleons) and it feels very weird to me to "stack" my pets in boxes as i always like to make it feel like home for them. I was wondering if i could use one of these instead or something like it for a hatchling.
http://www.lllreptile.com/products/4...lass-terrarium

Thank you so much and sorry for my english.

Old 09-03-2015, 06:52 AM   #2
DollysMom
Welcome to the forum and congratulations on your choice of a corn snake!

What you have pictured is not the best choice for housing a corn snake. Something approximately 75 centimeters long, 30 centimeters wide, and 30 centimeters tall, made of glass, like a fish tank with a secure screen lid, would be a better choice. It would be difficult to set up proper under tank heating in what you have pictured because you need enough floor space to have a warm end and a cool end. I'm not sure what is available where you live, but something like I have described could house most corn snakes for their entire lives.

Many here use something like I just described and make the tank very pretty with hides, water bowl, silk or plastic plants or vines, sticks to climb, and a snake safe substrate.

Best wishes. Keep asking questions and you will get more answers and ideas.