CornSnakes.com Forums  
  Tired of those Google and InfoLinks ads? Register and log in!

Go Back   CornSnakes.com Forums > The CornSnake Forums > Feeders
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Feeders Any and all issues about raising rats, mice, or anything else that you feed your cornsnakes.

13 bucks for 6 pinkies?

Old 02-26-2014, 09:38 PM   #1
JessKeen
13 bucks for 6 pinkies?

So my baby just came today from BHB, she's my first snake so I am a novice at where to get her food. I went to petsmart today and the only option available for pinkies was a tiny box of 6 for 13 bucks. This seems absolutely outrageous to me, I bought it anyway because obviously I needed to have some in the freezer.

Is there a better way? Is this a normal price for pinkies?

Old 02-26-2014, 09:56 PM   #2
Mark_L
My local pet store (LLL Reptiles) in San Diego has live pinkies and fuzzies for $1 each. Frozen are 10 for $6. Bulk buys are even cheaper. I would look around and compare. A store that specializes in reptiles would be a good place to start. Good luck.

Old 02-26-2014, 09:59 PM   #3
JessKeen
Thanks, I know of a couple stores relatively close by that specialize in exotics, I'll call around before I buy again

Old 02-26-2014, 10:08 PM   #4
Nanci
For that much, you should just order a bag of 50 from Big Cheese. Their shipping is very reasonable. You could even add a bag of fuzzies.

Old 02-26-2014, 11:19 PM   #5
JessKeen
Will my baby use up 50 pinkies before she moves up to fuzzies? Might be a dumb question, sorry.

Old 02-26-2014, 11:20 PM   #6
JessKeen
I mean, obviously you can't know how big/old my snake is, I just got her today and I would say about 13 inches and bigger around than a pencil, but smaller than a sharpie. I'm just asking the typical baby...if there is such a thing

Old 02-27-2014, 05:48 AM   #7
Nanci