• Hello!

Either you have not registered on this site yet, or you are registered but have not logged in. In either case, you will not be able to use the full functionality of this site until you have registered, and then logged in after your registration has been approved.

Registration is FREE, so please register so you can participate instead of remaining a lurker....

Please be certain that the location field is correctly filled out when you register. All registrations that appear to be bogus will be rejected. Which means that if your location field does NOT match the actual location of your registration IP address, then your registration will be rejected.

Sorry about the strictness of this requirement, but it is necessary to block spammers and scammers at the door as much as possible.

Breeding/Egg Production & Care FAQ

Joejr14

Grand Bubble Burster
Since I've got some experience under my belt I was going to try and tackle this FAQ sometime this week.

Any input from you guys as far as what should be covered?

Not sure exactly what you're already planning on putting in, but these things might be helpful to cover:

pros and cons of brumation for breeding
Size, age and condition of female before breeding (with maybe a link to a thread on cohabiting)
health risks to the animal
how to tell if your female is gravid
how to make an egg laying container
incubation procedure
double clutching, risks and how to keep a double clutching female in good health
post-natal care of hatchlings

When and how to introduce the pair.
Courtship behavior and actual mating/things to look for (yellow "spooge", blood, etc.)
Time frame from mating to egg laying to hatching to second clutch, etc.
When, if and how to help a hatchling out of the egg.
When, how and how long to brumate and steps/procedures to change the normal cycle (ie - brumating in August).

I think that should keep you busy for awhile!