CornSnakes.com Forums  
  Tired of those Google and InfoLinks ads? Register and log in!

Go Back   CornSnakes.com Forums > The CornSnake Forums > Health Issues/Feeding Problems
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Health Issues/Feeding Problems Anything related to general or specific health problems. Issues having to do with feeding problems or tips.

Aggressive after feeding

Old 06-11-2012, 07:01 PM   #1
rvan
Aggressive after feeding

I am new to snakes and have had this one(Sunglow Motley) for about 2 months now. (He is about 20 months old.)I move him to a different container when I feed him and the first two times it went smooth. After he ate I was able to pick him up and move him a couple of feet to his home. He then went blue and shed and did not eat during that period.

The last two feeding I did everything the same, but when I went to remove him from the feed container he began the tail rattle and would strike at my hand. I even put the container on it side and let him onto the carpet then tried the pick-up with the same results.

Is this a common issue? What would you recommend in this situation?

Thanks in advance Randy

Old 06-11-2012, 07:05 PM   #2
Bartholomew
Give him some time to settle down after he has eaten. Say 10 minutes or so? You decide.
The more you fiddle with him, the more he's going to get stressed, and the harder it will be for you to get him in his terrarium.

Old 06-11-2012, 07:44 PM   #3
beautifullywild77
They are still in hunt/feeding mode right after they eat. It might just be that.

Old 06-11-2012, 09:44 PM   #4
AliCat37
I just feed in the cage so I don't need to mess with snakes in feed mode.
Have you tried just letting him slither from the feed box to his cage?

Old 06-12-2012, 12:04 AM   #5
Kate