CornSnakes.com Forums  
  Tired of those Google and InfoLinks ads? Register and log in!

Go Back   CornSnakes.com Forums > The CornSnake Forums > The Cultivars (morphs)/Genetics Issues
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

The Cultivars (morphs)/Genetics Issues Discussions about genetics issues and/or the various cultivars for cornsnakes commercially available.

Can you ID my snake?

Old 07-29-2017, 09:47 PM   #1
SeverusApophis
Can you ID my snake?

I'm new to corn snakes. I got this little guy from a pet store a few months back. He was labeled a blood red but I believe that as much as the feeding schedule they gave me. If it was accurate he's at least 8 months old.

The split belly pattern only goes 2/3 of the way up from his tail.

Old 07-29-2017, 11:05 PM   #2
Shiari
Normal masque. It's probably het for diffused since it is clearly not homozygous diffused.

Old 07-30-2017, 10:12 AM   #3
Dragonling
If you got him from a big box store, I'd believe 8 months. Growth is based on feeding, not age. Big box stores by policy feed one pinky (and ours come in tiny) weekly, which is sufficient to maintain them but not really enough to encourage much growth. Even many mom and pop stores and breeders maintenance feed babies for sale.

Old 07-30-2017, 05:30 PM   #4
Shiari
Ah, I missed the 'pet store' part. Normal masque, and the age could indeed be accurate.

Old 07-30-2017, 06:19 PM   #5
SeverusApophis
Well that is unfortunate. I wanted to get a snake from an expo but it skipped my region this year. He was at the store the longest so I got suckered into buying him.

Old 07-31-2017, 01:27 PM   #6
Twolunger