CornSnakes.com Forums  
  Tired of those Google and InfoLinks ads? Register and log in!

Go Back   CornSnakes.com Forums > The CornSnake Forums > Feeders
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Feeders Any and all issues about raising rats, mice, or anything else that you feed your cornsnakes.

"Take out" food....

Old 03-03-2005, 12:42 AM   #1
Rosebear
Red face "Take out" food....

First off...I'm extremely new at this. Second, I'm obsessive.

That having been said, since it's so darn hard here to get the right size feeder mice for my corn, I decided to raise my own. I'm willing to dispatch the bambinos humanely, and at the right time... I've only got one snake myself, but I have 4 friends/collegues who have plenty to warrant beginning a mice colony. One of us started, but....when ya gotta feed...ya gotta FEED! So...a few days ago, I picked up (after reading copious threads) 1 male and 2 female mice, a starter cage (with amenities) and extra bedding. Initially, I had a wee bit of trouble handling the mice...until the snot-rotten little s.o.b. BIT me! That ended our love-affair right then and there. Immediately and thereafter they became known as SNAKE FOOD.

But I digress...

Night #1...As I'm going to bed, I watch the first little mouse wedge his face between the wires of the cage and calmly remove himself from captivity. Curses. Yes...even profanity. Especially when I "rescued" the creature and it "thanked" me by taking a teeny hunk out of my thumb.

Morning-after #1...(We'll presume it was) the same creature, (whom I found it very difficult not to smack against the desk-top the night before...remembering this IS my "feeder project" after all) was found strolling amongst the lettuce plants on the desk surrounding the cage. Hmm...I snatched the wee creature up and replaced him in the cage.

Day #2...no further major events...although hubby witnessed one of the critters poking its nose through the wires....