CornSnakes.com Forums  
  Tired of those Google and InfoLinks ads? Register and log in!

Go Back   CornSnakes.com Forums > The CornSnake Forums > Feeders
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Feeders Any and all issues about raising rats, mice, or anything else that you feed your cornsnakes.

can pinkies be refrozen!?

Old 09-06-2005, 11:30 AM   #1
laura & dave
can pinkies be refrozen!?

hi there!

im new to this borad, bought a male Snow Corn on sunday, hes great! hes a little baby.

i have been told that he needs feeding every wednesday 1 pinky a week, i live a fair way from any pet stores and was wondering if they defrosted could i refreeze them?

lets pray he eats

and i read on the site that defrosting in warm water is good

Old 09-06-2005, 11:47 AM   #2
breedingcolors
Welcome to the forum.

Yes you can refreeze it but it is better to do it only one time. If it is a baby, you can feed it every 5-7 days. You can buy more than one mouse and keep them in your freezer so you will not have to go every week. You can bring an icepak with you when you go to your petshop so the mice stay frozen until you get home.

Warm water is perfect to defrost them. And if you can, make 4 tinny cuts with an exacto on the back of the mouse when it is thaugh before giving it to the snake. It will help the snake to better assimilate the mouse.

Good Luck and don't hesitate if you have other questions.

Old 09-06-2005, 11:50 AM   #3
cornnewb2005
Welcome

Welcome to the forum

I'm new myself, but as far as i know it is safe to refreeze a pinky, just not iver and over again. If your to far from the pet store there are a few places online that you can buy frozen mice....some of them are in bulks of 100, or 50. That might be a little much just for one, but I hope it helps.
Good luck with your new addition

Old 09-06-2005, 11:50 AM   #4
laura & dave