CornSnakes.com Forums  
  Tired of those Google and InfoLinks ads? Register and log in!

Go Back   CornSnakes.com Forums > The CornSnake Forums > New Member Introductions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

New Member Introductions Getting more and more new members here, so I think we need a forum for them to introduce themselves. You old timers can do the same, if you would like.

Newbie here

Old 08-18-2011, 11:10 AM   #1
Zindar
Newbie here

Olahokagen!

Just wanted to say thanks to all of you out there. Before I got my new corn, Nagazal, I read up on all sorts of info here. It really answered a lot of my questions, and made the transition much easier.

I still have a few questions that hopefully someone can answer...

I'm keeping Nagazal in my living room, and I've read that a decent lighting schedule is 12 hours on, 12 hours off. Problem is that I (and my family) still use the living room way after the tank's light goes off. I've been covering the tank with a towel so the light won't bother Nagazal, but I don't know if that's necessary or it could be problematic. What should I do?

Also, can someone please tell me what kind of corn he/she is?

Old 08-18-2011, 11:11 AM   #2
TalonaCat
Welcome! I, like you, find these forums to be a crucial part of my learning process. You will love it here!

Old 08-18-2011, 12:07 PM   #3
K. Rene
Hi there and welcome. It looks to me like you have a pretty normal (classic) color corn snake, and a pretty one at that.

I don't have any lights on my corns at all, two are in the living room but most of them are with us in the computer room and we have the light on after dark, doesn't seem to bother them at all.

Old 08-18-2011, 03:32 PM   #4
Zindar
Thanks! And I do love it here! There's a lot of great info.

Cool. I thought it was a normal, but wasn't totally sure. So do you think I don't need the light at all?

Old 08-18-2011, 03:40 PM   #5
Airidies