CornSnakes.com Forums  
  Tired of those Google and InfoLinks ads? Register and log in!

Go Back   CornSnakes.com Forums > The CornSnake Forums > The Cultivars (morphs)/Genetics Issues
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

The Cultivars (morphs)/Genetics Issues Discussions about genetics issues and/or the various cultivars for cornsnakes commercially available.

Difference between Miami Phase and Miami Locality

Old 01-31-2021, 04:28 PM   #1
agonzaga281
Difference between Miami Phase and Miami Locality

Is there a difference or are they the same? Trying to figure out if my corn snake is a phase or locality. Thanks!

Old 01-31-2021, 04:33 PM   #2
agonzaga281
I am pretty new to this so bear with me!

Old 01-31-2021, 07:17 PM   #3
hypnoctopus
Miami phase corns are generally a rust red color (sometimes a bit more burnt orange) with a silver or gray background color. Yours already has so much orange saturation on the neck that there is no way I would consider it a Miami phase. A Miami locality corn is one that was collected from the Miami area and may not look as 'clean' or 'ideal' as a Miami phase corn (which has been bred over generations for that red and gray look), but will still mostly be a reddish and grayish corn snake. So unless you know that yours was field collected from the Miami area or is from parents from that area, I would consider yours a nice looking normal. Was it sold to you as a Miami?

This thread is a good read and has some pictures. http://www.cornsnakes.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=135255

Old 01-31-2021, 07:20 PM   #4
hypnoctopus
Ian's vivarium also has a section of Miami corns. If you compare yours to the other babies, you'll see that baby Miamis are usually very dark red with gray backgrounds, and basically no orange on the neck.

http://iansvivarium.com/morphs/?m=miami

Old 01-31-2021, 08:30 PM   #5
Rich Z