CornSnakes.com Forums  
  Tired of those Google and InfoLinks ads? Register and log in!

Go Back   CornSnakes.com Forums > The CornSnake Forums > Feeders
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Feeders Any and all issues about raising rats, mice, or anything else that you feed your cornsnakes.

Heads Up: Salmonella outbreak tied to PetSmart mice

Old 05-23-2014, 03:13 PM   #1
AdmYrrek
Exclamation Heads Up: Salmonella outbreak tied to PetSmart mice

I saw this on one of my newsfeeds for work (I'm a livestock journalist) and thought it was important for people here to be kept aware.

http://www.cleveland.com/healthfit/i..._with_sal.html

Old 05-23-2014, 03:58 PM   #2
Nanci
Here's a better article, giving the source of the mice.

Old 05-23-2014, 04:09 PM   #3
Chip
A small rat is $12.99 at my local PetSmart. I'm surprised they've ever sold one.

Old 05-23-2014, 04:34 PM   #4
TyeW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chip View Post
A small rat is $12.99 at my local PetSmart. I'm surprised they've ever sold one.
Wow. I've never heard of prices being that high, even in canada! Is that live or frozen?

Old 05-23-2014, 05:15 PM   #5
Chip
It's a single frozen packaged sm rat. I guess people think "It only cost $13 a week to feed my BP, that's not so bad."

Old 05-23-2014, 10:13 PM   #6
HerpsOfNM