CornSnakes.com Forums  
  Tired of those Google and InfoLinks ads? Register and log in!

Go Back   CornSnakes.com Forums > The CornSnake Forums > Husbandry and Basic Care
Register FAQ Members List Calendar

Notices

Husbandry and Basic Care General stuff about keeping and maintaining cornsnakes in captivity.

class pet snake, will it be warm at night? please help :)

Old 11-27-2015, 11:13 AM   #1
janieg
Exclamation class pet snake, will it be warm at night? please help :)

hi everyone!

i'm a teacher and i'm getting a corn snake for a class pet. we have a 20L tank and i have a heating pad with a thermostat and a thermometer. i have the tank all set up and i am monitoring the temperature because i want to make sure that everything is good before we get the snake.

as it is a class pet, the snake will be in the classroom by itself at night. the snake kit that i got through a grant has a heat lamp with it, with a blue daylight bulb, but i have read that corn snakes do not need heat lamps, so right now i am not using it.

so the hot end of the tank is at 85 degrees (i have the thermostat and thermometer probes touching the glass bottom of the tank where the heating pad is, under the aspen substrate), but the cool end of the tank is at about 70 degrees, which i feel might be too cool?

my question is, do you think i should have a heating lamp in the middle of the tank, set on a timer, so that the snake won't get too cold at night when the heat won't be on in the classroom? and is my cool side too cold?

thank you!

Old 11-27-2015, 12:02 PM   #2
Karl_Mcknight
those temps are fine. The warm end is ok, the cool end too as long as it doesn't drop much lower. (I actually use 2 heat pads, 1 at 85 degrees and 1 at 74 on the cool side because the temps go down to around 65 at night.)