CornSnakes.com Forums  
  Tired of those Google and InfoLinks ads? Register and log in!

Go Back   CornSnakes.com Forums > The CornSnake Forums > Health Issues/Feeding Problems
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Health Issues/Feeding Problems Anything related to general or specific health problems. Issues having to do with feeding problems or tips.

A Couple Questions... about Corn Snake Care/Feeding

Old 03-27-2005, 04:09 AM   #1
DevXen
A Couple Questions... about Corn Snake Care/Feeding

hey.. i have a Red Corn Snake... and i'm rather new to snakes, other then the Garter snakes i cought when i was little, who would eat Feeder Fish... So having a Bigger snake that Eats Mice, is a little different.. this Snake is Full Grown, or nearly full grown, if indeed its not and i had a couple questions.. if anyone wanted to offer their advice or Suggestions.

1. The Snake was a bright Reddish Color when we got it.. about a month ago... now it seems to be a darker Brownish Red.. is that normal.. or?

2. some of his Scales seem to be Peeling, or Flaking off.. i noticed this a few days ago.. his eyes are'nt cloudy.. so i don't think he's gettin' ready to shed, even though he may be. ... Could be from the mice as well though.

3. The Snakes Bedding i'm using is Apen. it came Recommended from muti-Pet Stores. I hear that most Pet Stores are in fact wrong.. from looking stuff up, on the net. So i wanted to ask if this Aspen is in fact okay. because i hear Pine, is Toxic for Lizards/snakes. Esp. if they eat it. i Previously had the little pellet looking Recycled news paper.. in there... and that was okay i guess.. but with this aspen, it allows them to Dig tunnels through it.