• Hello!

Either you have not registered on this site yet, or you are registered but have not logged in. In either case, you will not be able to use the full functionality of this site until you have registered, and then logged in after your registration has been approved.

Registration is FREE, so please register so you can participate instead of remaining a lurker....

Please be certain that the location field is correctly filled out when you register. All registrations that appear to be bogus will be rejected. Which means that if your location field does NOT match the actual location of your registration IP address, then your registration will be rejected.

Sorry about the strictness of this requirement, but it is necessary to block spammers and scammers at the door as much as possible.

Are shedding and feeding related?

RedRaydin

Jason DeFreitas
Quick question as I am a newbie. My corn that I got Sept 18 just shed for the first time yesterday Oct 4. Now I have him on a normal pinkie feeding schedule once a week on thurs so he is due tommorrow on oct 5. But I was just making sure that there isnt like a minimal time of wait you are suppossed to wait after they shed before you feed. Just checking. If anyone could be of help please let me know. Thank you.

Jason

Hi Jason,

No there is no minimal time. Some snakes will actually all during their preshed phase and immediately there after, others prefer not to eat during those times. the best thing to do is to leave it up to them by offering the food on the planned schedule.

If your new snake is young , as it sounds, you might want to feed every 5 days for a while. Young snakes dont get much nutrition from those pinkies so a more frequent feed schedule is often followed. I actually feed all my juveniles, every wednesday and Sunday. I have seen a very healthy growth pattern at this rate, then as they move up to fuzzie size food I drop them back to once per week feedings.

Best wishes to you.

Wrong Dates