• Hello!

Either you have not registered on this site yet, or you are registered but have not logged in. In either case, you will not be able to use the full functionality of this site until you have registered, and then logged in after your registration has been approved.

Registration is FREE, so please register so you can participate instead of remaining a lurker....

Please be certain that the location field is correctly filled out when you register. All registrations that appear to be bogus will be rejected. Which means that if your location field does NOT match the actual location of your registration IP address, then your registration will be rejected.

Sorry about the strictness of this requirement, but it is necessary to block spammers and scammers at the door as much as possible.

New tank, high humidity, low heat

menwuur

Hey there I'm new to owning a corn and just set up an exo-terra 12 x 12 x 18 tank with cypress mulch substrate (about 2 inches of it), an under the tank heater and an exo-terra sun glow 15w lamp. After 6 or 7 hours keeping the thermometer on the substrate over the heater I'm getting around 80F with the lamp on. Humidity with the hygrometer directly on the substrate is around 90. I'm currently testing the 'cold' side temperature and humidity at the top of the tank to get a better idea of the air. I've been reading that temperature of the hot side should be 85-90F, any tips on how I can get the temp up? Is 2 inches of substrate too much for a small UTH? I have not gotten my snake yet so right now I'm just trying to test out the environment. Any help is appreciated!