• Hello!

Either you have not registered on this site yet, or you are registered but have not logged in. In either case, you will not be able to use the full functionality of this site until you have registered, and then logged in after your registration has been approved.

Registration is FREE, so please register so you can participate instead of remaining a lurker....

Please be certain that the location field is correctly filled out when you register. All registrations that appear to be bogus will be rejected. Which means that if your location field does NOT match the actual location of your registration IP address, then your registration will be rejected.

Sorry about the strictness of this requirement, but it is necessary to block spammers and scammers at the door as much as possible.

Moist Hides?

chondrohead44

Hello,

I was thinking about using moist hides with sphagnium moss. (I hope I spelled it right!) I have never used moist hides before but I know several people on this forum do. Apart from sphagnium moss what is a good medium for a moist hide? Also what are the pros and cons of using moist hides? Thanks in advance! :)

Jacob

i use them when my animals are in shed. thats the only time i really ever use them though just to help them shed better. i dont think i see much advantages of having them all the time besides just keeping a nice humid spot for your animal so it can go to it if it feels good to them. but im no expert so there might be something i dont know about it.

I agree. When your snake is shedding they may be of value. I noticed the snakes you list in your signature are not high humidity snakes. I don’t think I would use one on an ongoing basis. You will have bacteria and fungus growing in there. Too much moisture will cause skin problems for the snake.

Thanks guys! Whenever my snakes are shedding I mist and have never had any problem with shedding except once in a while. If they do I soak them for an hour and manually remove the shed.