• Hello!

Either you have not registered on this site yet, or you are registered but have not logged in. In either case, you will not be able to use the full functionality of this site until you have registered, and then logged in after your registration has been approved.

Registration is FREE, so please register so you can participate instead of remaining a lurker....

Please be certain that the location field is correctly filled out when you register. All registrations that appear to be bogus will be rejected. Which means that if your location field does NOT match the actual location of your registration IP address, then your registration will be rejected.

Sorry about the strictness of this requirement, but it is necessary to block spammers and scammers at the door as much as possible.

Sani-Chips - Bad?

insomniac101

Occupant
Hi Guys and Gals,

So, I've been using aspen shavings for many years, but like the look of Sani-Chips much better. I could never find it locally, and shipping was way too expensive. I finally found some, and got free shipping if I purchased a certain dollar amount.

So now I have 6 big bags of this stuff, and don't really like it! My concern is at feeding time. I thaw rodents in warm water, and dry them on a towel, but I've noticed that by the time the snake "kills" the rodent, it's covered in the bedding. Seriously, it looks like that coating mix, Shake-N-Bake! I've tried brushing off as much as I could, but that stresses the snakes out while they're trying to eat.

I've solved the problem with my neos by putting them in deli cups, but the adults are a problem. With the number of adults I have, putting them into separate containers to eat will be a huge undertaking. I tried putting some butter container lids underneath the feeder rodent, but the snakes drag them through the bedding anyway.